Sharing my Growth Hacking journey

Back in February, I wrote a post on Conversion Rate Optimization and A/B testing and briefly touched on the topic of Growth Hacking. I’ve been inspired to write more after meeting Sean Ellis, the godfather who coined the term “Growth Hacking”, entrepreneur, angel investor,  startup advisor, founder and CEO of Qualaroo and GrowthHackers.com, last week at SydStart and today at the Fireside Chat in ATP Inovations.

Sean talked about learning from your test failures, asking those repeat users from your platform what they would miss from your product if it wasn’t around anymore, how growth hacking is addictive like a drug and there is no ‘one size fits all’ solution when it comes to Growth Hacking. His passion to share the knowledge from his journey has been very inspiring. So I thought I’d share a little about my journey.

The first time I’ve been exposed to the term Growth Hacking was from our VP of Product, Dino Talic. He introduced the concept to hipages back in 2013. I used to say that I’m the curse child because every test I worked on, the results were opposite from our hypothesis – it was very demoralizing.

But early this year was when I really saw the concept of growth hacking differently, I was no longer disappointed when tests didn’t work, instead it provided valuable learnings about our users. We picked up our velocity, created a mini CRO growth pod, decided to set ourselves a goal of deploying 3 tests per week and gosh we were on fire! We would analyze the behavior of our users, brainstorm test ideas, prioritized the impact and wins, implement them, get the test out and the process repeated itself. We learned from our test results, increased our conversions and celebrated our wins!

I feel extremely privileged to have the opportunity and luxury to put this into practice at work. There is nothing about growth that is not to like. I love the variety; wearing many different hats, analyzing data, coming up with test ideas on how to move the metrics we were chasing and when you see the needle moving, the satisfaction is exhilarating. This is growth. 

But what’s more interesting is the concept of growth teams. It was only around August when I realized more and more companies adopted having dedicated ‘Growth’ teams. When I met Paul Nguyen, Growth Hacker from OpenAgents.com.au, I was in awe of how talent. He was like a data scientist, engineer and product manager all-in-one.

What is your growth team like? Would love to hear what growth hacking means in your company. Feel free to drop me a line!

Leave a Reply

